top of page

The Mountains of the Himalayas

They cover approximately 1,500 mi (2,400 km) and pass through the nations of India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, China, Bhutan and Nepal. The Himalayan range is made up of three parallel ranges often referred to as the Greater Himalayas, the Lesser Himalayas, and the Outer Himalayas. The highest range of the Himalayas is called Mount Everest and is about 8,848 metre high above mean sea level.

The Himalayan mountain range and Tibetan plateau have formed as a result of the collision between the Indian Plate and Eurasian Plate which began 50 million years ago.

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page